The Non-Stop Day

I kept going all day… my battery is finally wearing out.

Today I had an “holiday open house” party, which means I invited people over, showed my products to them, and allowed them an option to purchase products from me (I do direct sales as a side job). I also had one of my best friends, a massage therapist, give massages to the guests and another friend set up a table and sold her homemade soaps, chocolate, and potpourri. It was fun, but exhausting. I worked on cleaning the house, baking cookies, getting everything ready before the party and picking up another friend to bring her to the party (her husband had the car). I was racing around up until the last minute. After the open house party finished, my massage-therapist friend and I raced to another party… open mic style. I had not seen all our musician friends in a while. At first I didn’t really want to go; I was just wanting some downtime. Once I saw all my old friends, though, I was happy. And, of course, I got to play a few songs for the heck of it.

I used to be crazy busy all the time; I worked full-time, did gigs and open mics, socialized, went to bed late, then got up early and did it all again the next day. All before I got married. Then I forgot all that and settled in. Now that I am just getting into the music and socializing again, I wonder how I ever did all that before. I’m just not used to all that anymore!

Because of all I’ve had to do, I’ve not had time to study for the past two days. Tomorrow afternoon and all day Monday will be “cram days”. I even had a charity even I was going to participate in tomorrow night; I’ll have to bow out of that to make time to study. No one’s going to see my face for the next one-and-a-half days until I get it done.

And NaBloPoMo? I may as well forget about it; I’ve not been able to keep up with the challenge. I’ll do it when and if I can, but I can just forget about doing it with regularity. Sometimes it requires deeper thinking than I have had time for lately… I’m so tired.

I’ll be delighted when a Christmas break from my studies occurs. I want to have a RELAXED Christmas, not a hectic one. I want a fully decorated Douglas fir, a blustery winter evening (since it’s Florida, I’ll settle for blustery instead of snowy), the fireplace blazing (we still get some cold nights here), soft Christmas music playing in the background, and a good book. And I don’t want to be running around hither, thither, and yon. I don’t care about presents, either; I just want the people that I care about around me.

On that note… what are YOUR thoughts about how you like to spend the holidays… or any time that you have that is completely your own?

3 thoughts on “The Non-Stop Day

  1. I most definitely wouldn’t be able to keep up with a fast-paced social life. I can handle one MAYBE two nights out a week… The rest of the time I just like to retreat to my cave, maybe with the boyfriend… maybe ๐Ÿ˜‰ (He’s sitting here… I’m wondering if he will read over my shoulder?) I don’t blame you for bailing on NaBloPoMo. I couldn’t commit to it, it seems needlessly stressful and like it would dilute the quality of my writing and perhaps steal a bit of the joy from it. Who knows. Good luck with the busyness, Christmas Break is not too far off!

    • Yes… Christmas break… so looking forward to it.

      I don’t know why I do this, but it’s like I’m under the mistaken impression that I think I can get it all done. Tonight I’ve been paying the price and cramming my studies in. Tomorrow will be a cram day as well till I get caught up. I told my husband that I’m hiding from people for a while… LOL!

      I love my friends, but I also love my downtime. Time spent alone definitely helps me recharge.

      Looks like you just posted an interesting blog… gonna give it a look… ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

