The Thankfulness Project

thanksgiving boat photo

It was the best of times, it was the worst of times, it was the age of wisdom, it was the age of foolishness, it was the epoch of belief, it was the epoch of incredulity, it was the season of Light, it was the season of Darkness, it was the spring of hope, it was the winter of despair, we had everything before us, we had nothing before us, we were all going direct to heaven, we were all going direct the other way – in short, the period was so far like the present period, that some of its noisiest authorities insisted on its being received, for good or for evil, in the superlative degree of comparison only.

Charles Dickens, A Tale of Two Cities English novelist  (1812 – 1870)

(Taken from http://www.quotationspage.com/quote/29595.html)

The above quote seems to represent where I stand in my life at this time; it can be an incredible time of progress and positive change, or I can let myself sink into the mire of despair.

There are changes I need to make about myself if I’m going to get where I need to go, and the main thing seems to concern cultivating an intense habit of thankfulness. I often catch myself falling into the habit of “stinkin’ thinkin'”, and by the end of the day I can turn into someone that nobody would want to be around.

So, in the spirit of the Thanksgiving season (and for my own best interest and others around me), I decided that I’m going to blog one or more things that I’m thankful for everyday during November, as well as continuing to participate in the NaBloPoMo blogging prompts (which I’m also enjoying and has been very good for my writing/blogging skills). I may blog my thankfulness odes more than once a day. I may even extend it past November. The point is that I will post something I am thankful for at once a day for the month of November — at least. I want to really cultivate that habit.

* * *

I am thankful to God that, though things have not always gone as I have wanted to, He has never left me to sort it all out on my own. He never promised I would have an easy life but He promised that He would never leave me nor forsake me. I am thankful to Him that He has given me the blessings that I do have, and that He has not always given me what I have wanted, but He has always given me what I have needed.

I am thankful for my husband. Thankful to God that He brought such a kind man into my life who loves me in spite of my quirks and is being patient while I figure life out. Thankful to God for a sweet, eight-year-old stepson who actually cares about me (yes, loving stepparent/stepchild relationships do exist) and for whom I extend the same tender care.

 

photo credit: <a href=”http://www.flickr.com/photos/alicepopkorn/2979657148/”>AlicePopkorn</a> via <a href=”http://photopin.com”>photopin</a> <a href=”http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nd/2.0/”>cc</a>

Leave a Reply

