Google Search: Copyright Protection for Artwork

One of the latest Google searches I did regarded copyright protection for artwork.

I received an e-mail from my college about the opportunity for students to send a file of their artwork to the college so it could possibly be chosen for inclusion in the yearbook. I was considering doing that, but didn’t (as of yet) have an “official” copyright on the work I would have submitted. I wanted to know if my art piece would be safe from infringement anyway should I have decided to send it. I went to this link: http://www.slowart.com/articles/copy.htm

Though it seemed like an interesting opportunity, I decided not to send it anyway. Call me selfish, but I would rather sell my art at a show and get a return for my efforts. There was no offer of payment in return for sending the image for yearbook submission. I might have if I wasn’t trying to create more art pieces and at least attempt to earn something from them.

Leave a Reply

